previous next

First Congress
of the
Confederate States of America.
(adjourned session)

Richmond, July 20, 1861.
Congress met in the Hall of the House of Delegates at the Capitol, at 12 o'clock M.

Hon. Howell Cobb, in the Chair, called the Assembly to order.

The Rev. Dr. S. K. Talmadge, of Georgia, then offered up an affecting prayer.

By direction of the President, the roll of the Confederate States was called alphabetically, and the following named members were ascertained to be present:

From Alabama.--R. H. Smith, J. L. M. Curry, Nich. P. Davis and H. C. Jones.

From Arkansas.--Robert W. Johnson, H. F. Thomasson, A. H. Garland and W. W. Watkins.

From Florida.--None.

From Georgia.--Robert Toombs, Howell Cobb, Eugenius A. Nisbet, Benjamin H. Hill, A. R. Wright and Augustus H. Kenan.

From Louisiana--John Perkins, Jr., A. DeClout, Charles M. Conrad, D. S. Kenner and Henry Marshall.

From Mississippi.--Wiley P. Harris, Walker Brook and J. T. Harrison.

From South Carolina.--L. M. Keitt, C. G. Memminger and W. W. Boyce.

From Texas--Louis T. Wigfall, John H. Reagan, John Hemphill, T. N. Naul and W. B. Ochiltree.

From Virginia.--J. W. Brockenbrough and Walter R. Staples.

On motion of Mr. Brockenbrough, the following named newly appointed delegates from Virginia came forward, presented their credentials, and took the oath of office: James A. Seddon, Wm. Ballard Preston. Wm H. McFarland, Charles W. Russell and Robert Johnson.

Mr. Toombs.--I believe the members elect from the State of North Carolina, whose credentials have been filed are present.

The President.--They will please come forward and take the oath of office.

Accordingly the following named gentlemen, members elect from North Carolina, came forward and were sworn in — George Davis, W. W. Avery. W. N. H. Smith, A. W. Venable, J. M. Morehead, R. C. Puryear, and E. A. Davidson.

Mr. Perkins, of Louisiana.--As the House is now organized, I move the appointment of a committee to inform the President that a quorum is present and ready to receive any communication he may be pleased to make.

The motion being sustained, the Chair appointed Messrs Perkins, of Louisiana, Brockenbrough, of Virginia, and Johnson, of Arkansas, to constitute such committee.

During the absence of the committee, Mr. Toombs, from the Committee on Ways and Means, introduced a bill entitled an act to authorise the appointment of agents to sign treasury notes, which was read in due order and passed.

The committee appointed to inform the President of the organization of the House, returned and reported that the President would send in a communication in writing.--A few moments thereafter, the following message was received from his Excellency, President Davis, by his Private Secretary, and ordered to be read, together with accompanying documents. [For President's Message see another column.]

On motion of Mr. Wigfall, of Texas, five thousand copies of the President's Message were ordered to be printed.

On motion of Mr Keitt, of South Carolina, the Committee on Printing was instructed to inquire into the expediency of electing a Public Printer.

Congress then adjourned to meet Monday at 12 o'clock, M.

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 3.0 United States License.

An XML version of this text is available for download, with the additional restriction that you offer Perseus any modifications you make. Perseus provides credit for all accepted changes, storing new additions in a versioning system.

hide Dates (automatically extracted)
Sort dates alphabetically, as they appear on the page, by frequency
Click on a date to search for it in this document.
July 20th, 1861 AD (1)
hide Display Preferences
Greek Display:
Arabic Display:
View by Default:
Browse Bar: