previous next



τὸ Τῆμνον ὄρος). Now DemirdjiDagh; a mountain of Mysia, extending eastward from Ida to the borders of Phrygia, and dividing Mysia into two parts. It contains the sources of the Macestus, Mysius, Caïcus, and Evenus (Strabo, p. 616).


Now Kayajik; a city of Aeolis, in the northwest of Lydia, thirty miles south of Cymé. It was nearly destroyed by an earthquake in the reign of Tiberius, and is not noticed by Pliny. Under the Byzantine Empire it was called Archangĕlus (Strabo, p. 621; Xen. Hell. iv. 8, 5; Herod. i. 149; Pol. v. 77; Tac. Ann. ii. 47).

hide References (4 total)
  • Cross-references from this page (4):
    • Herodotus, Histories, 1.149
    • Xenophon, Hellenica, 4.8.5
    • Polybius, Histories, 5.77
    • Tacitus, Annales, 2.47
hide Display Preferences
Greek Display:
Arabic Display:
View by Default:
Browse Bar: