previous next


Κεφαλληνία). The modern Cefalonia; called by Homer Samé (Σάμη) or Samos (Σάμος); the largest island in the Ionian Sea, separated from Ithaca by a narrow channel. It is very mountainous. Its chief towns were Samé, Palé, Cranii, and Proni. It never obtained political importance. It is now one of the seven Ionian islands ceded by Great Britain to Greece in 1864.

hide Display Preferences
Greek Display:
Arabic Display:
View by Default:
Browse Bar: