previous next


A Roman province, bounded on the north by the Danube, which separated it from Germany, on the west by the territory of the Helvetii in Gaul, on the south by Rhaetia, and on the east by the river Oenus (Inn), which separated it from Noricum, thus corresponding to the northeastern part of Switzerland, the southeast of Baden, the south of Würtemberg and Bavaria, and the northern part of the Tyrol. It was originally a part of the province of Rhaetia, and was conquered by Tiberius in the reign of Augustus. At a later time Rhaetia was divided into two provinces, Rhaetia Prima and Rhaetia Secunda, the latter of which names was gradually supplanted by that of Vindelicia. It was drained by the tributaries of the Danube, of which the most important were the Licias, or Licus (Lech), with its tributary the Vindo, Vinda, or Virdo (Werlach), the Isarus (Isar), and Oenus (Inn). The eastern part of the Lacus Brigantinus (Lake of Constance) also belonged to Vindelicia. It derived its name from its chief inhabitants, the Vindelĭci, a warlike people dwelling in the south of the country. The other tribes in Vindelicia were the Brigantii on the Lake of Constance, the Licatii or Licates on the Lech, and the Breuni (in the north of the Tyrol) on the Brenner. The chief town in the province was Augusta Vindelicorum (Augsburg), at the confluence of the Vindo and the Licus.

hide Display Preferences
Greek Display:
Arabic Display:
View by Default:
Browse Bar: