previous next


TEMNUS (Τῆμνον ὄρος), a mountain range of Mysia, extending from Mount Ida eastward into Phrygia, and dividing Mysia into two halves, a northern and a southern one. It contained the sources of the Macestus, Mysius, Caicus, and Evenus. (Strab. xiii. p.616; Ptol. 5.2.13.) Hamilton (Researches, ii. p. 125) is inclined to believe that Mons Temnus is the same as the Ak Dagh, or, as it is commonly called in maps, Morad Dagh.


hide Display Preferences
Greek Display:
Arabic Display:
View by Default:
Browse Bar: