previous next


GAURA MONS Part of the Jerusalem Itin. contains a route from Civitas Valentia (Valence), on the Rhone, to Mansio Vapincum (Gap). After leaving Mansio Lucus (Luc), 9 Roman miles bring us to Mutatio Vologatis, which is perhaps Vaugelas; and the Itin. adds, “inde ascenditur Gaura Mons.” The next station, 8 Roman miles from Vologatis, is Mutatio Cambonum. [CAMBONUM] D'Anville found, in a manuscript map of the Dausphiné, a hill called Col de Cabre, which, as he supposes, preserves the name Gaura. Walckenaer supposes the Gaura to be the chain of mountains which extends from Serre, on a branch of the Durance, to Rimusa, at the foot of which is the place named Le Ga. Probably D'Anville and Walckenaer mean the same range of hills.


hide Display Preferences
Greek Display:
Arabic Display:
View by Default:
Browse Bar: