previous next


TARRACONENSIS PROVINCIA (called by the Greeks Ταρρακωνησία, Ptol. 2.6, 8.4.5, &c.; and Ἰβηρία περὶ Ταρράκωνα, D. C. 53.3), at first constituted, as already remarked [Vol. I. p. 1081], the province of Hispania Citerior. It obtained its new appellation in the time of Augustus from its chief city Tarraco, where the Romans had established themselves, and erected the tribunal of a praetor. The Tarraconensis was larger than the other two provinces put together. Its boundaries were, on the E. the Mare Internum; on the N. the Pyrenees, which separated it from Gallia, and further westward the Mare Cantabricum; on the W., as far southward as the Durius, the Atlantic ocean, and below that point the province of Lusitania; and on the S. the province of Lusitania and the province of Baetica, the boundaries of which have been already laid down. (Mela, 2.6; comp. Strab. iii. p.166; Plin. Nat. 4.21. s. 35; Marcian, p. 34.) Thus it embraced the modern provinces of Murcia, Valencia, Catalonia, Arragon, Navarre, Biscay, Asturias, Gallicia, the N. part of Portugal as far down as the Douro, the N. part of Leon, nearly all the Castiles, and part of Andalusia. The nature of its climate and productions may be gathered from what has been already said [HISPANIA Vol. I. p. 1086.] A summary of the different tribes, according to the various authorities that have treated upon the subject, has also been given in the same article [p. 1083], as well as the particulars respecting its government and administration [p. 1081.]


hide References (2 total)
  • Cross-references from this page (2):
    • Pliny the Elder, Naturalis Historia, 4.21
    • Claudius Ptolemy, Tetrabiblos, 2.6
hide Display Preferences
Greek Display:
Arabic Display:
View by Default:
Browse Bar: