previous next


Eth. ARE´VACI, ARE´VACAE (Eth. Ἀρεουάκοι, Strab. iii. p.162; Ptol. 2.6.56; Ἀραυακαί, Pol. 35.2; Ἀρουακοί, Appian. Hisp. 45, 46), the most powerful of the four tribes of the Celtiberi in Hispania Tarraconensis, S. of the Pelendones and Berones, and N. of the Carpetani. They extended along the upper course of the Durius, from the Pistoraca, as far as the sources of the Tagus. Pliny (3.3. s. 4) assigns to them six towns, Segontia, Uxama, Segovia, Nova Augusta, Termes, and Clunia, on the borders of the Celtiberi. Numantia, which Pliny assigns to the Pelendones, is mentioned by other writers as the chief city of the Arevaci. [NUMANTIAJ Strabo, Ptolemy, and other writers also mention Lagni, Malia, Serguntia or Sargantha, Cesada, Colenda, Miacum, Pallantia, Segida, Arbace, Confluenta, Tucris, Veluca, and Setortialacta. The Arevaci were distinguished for their valour in the [p. 1.198]Celtiberian or Numantine war (B.C. 143--133) and especially for the defence of NUMANTIA (Strab., Polyb., Appian., ll. cc.)


hide References (2 total)
  • Cross-references from this page (2):
    • Pliny the Elder, Naturalis Historia, 3.3
    • Claudius Ptolemy, Tetrabiblos, 2.6
hide Display Preferences
Greek Display:
Arabic Display:
View by Default:
Browse Bar: