previous next


HEPTA´NOMIS ( Επτανομίς, Ptol. 4.5.55; more properly Ἑπτὰ Νομοί or Ἑπταπολίς, Dionys. Perieg. 251; sometimes μεταζύ[γή]), the modern Mlesr-Wostani of the Arabian geographers, or Middle. Egypt, may be described generally as the district which separates the Thebaïd from the Delta. Inasmuch, however, as the appellation of the Seven Nomes is political rather than territorial, it is not easy to define the actual boundaries of this region. The northern portion belonged to the kingdom of Lower Aegypt, of which it contained the capital, Memphis; the southern appertained to the elder kingdom of Thebes, so long at least as there continued to he two monarchies in the Nile valley. It is not possible to determine at what period, if indeed at any, the Heptanomis was regarded as an integral third of Aegypt. About the number of its nomes there can be no question; but which, at any given era, were the seven principal nomes, it is less easy to decide. They probably varied with the vicissitudes of local prosperity-war, commerce, or migration, from time to time, causing a superior nome to decline, and, on the contrary, raising an inferior nome to eminence. According to Ptolemy and Agatharchides (De Rubr. Mar. ap. Phot. Biblioth. p. 1339. R.), both of whom wrote long after the original divisions had been modified, the Seven Nomes were the following: (1.) Memphites. (2.) Heracleopolites. (3.) Crocodilopolites or Arsinoites. (4.) Aphroditopolites. (5.) Oxyrhynchites. (6.) Cynopolites. (7.) Hermopolites. The Greater and Lesser Oases were always reckoned portions of the Heptanomis, and hence it must apparently have sent nine, and not seven, nomarchs to the general assembly in the Labyrinth. The capitals of the Nomes, whose names are sufficiently indicated by the respective appellations of the divisions themselves-e. g. Hermopolis of the Nomos Hermopolites, &c.-were also the chief towns of the Middle Land. This district comprised the three greatest works of Egyptian art and enterprise, e. g., the Pyramids, the Labyrinth, [p. 1.1046]and the artificial district formed by the canal Bahr-Jusuf, the Nomos Arsinoites or the Fyoum. These, as well as the chief cities of the Heptanomis, are described under their separate designations. [APHRODITOPOLIS, CYNOPOLIS, &c.].

The Heptanomis extended from lat. N. 27° 4′ to 30° N.: its boundary to S. was the castle of Hermopolis (Ἐρμοπολιτάνη φυλακή); to N. the apex of the Delta and the town of Cercasorum; W. the irregular line of the Libyan Desert; and E. the hills which confine the Nile, or the sinuous outline, the recesses and projections of the Arabian mountains. Thus, near Hermopolis at the S. extremity of this region, the eastern hills approach very near the river, while those on the western or left bank recede to a considerable distance from it. Again, in lat. 29°, the Libyan hills retire from the vicinity of the Nile, bend toward NW., and sharply return to it by a curve to E., embracing the province of Arsinoë (El-Fyoum). Between the hills on which the Pyramids stand and the corresponding elevation of Gebel-el-Mokattam on the eastern bank of the river, the Heptanomis expands, until near Cercasorum it acquires almost the breadth of the subjacent Delta.

The Heptanomis is remarkable for its quarries of stone and its rock-grottoes. Besides the Alabastrites, already described, we find to N. of Antinoë the grottoes of Benihassan,--the Speos Artemidos of the Greeks. Nine miles lower down are the grottoes of Koumn-el-Ahmar, and in the Arabian desert, on the east, quarries of the beautiful veined and white alabaster, which the Egyptians employed in their sarcophagi, and in the more delicate portions of their architecture. From the quarries of Tourah and Massarah, in the hills of Gebel-el-Mokattam, east of Memphis, they obtained the limestone used in casing the pyramids. The roads from these quarries may still be traced across the intervening plain.

Under the Ptolemies the Heptanomis was governed by an ἐπιστράτηγος, and by an officer of corresponding designation,--procurator,--under the Roman Caesars. We find him described in inscriptions (Orelli, Inscr. Lat. n. 516) as “procurator Augusti epistrategiae Septem Nomorum.” Under the later Caesars in the 3rd century A.D. the five northern Nomes, Memphites, Heracleopolites, Arsinoites, Aphroditopolites, and Oxyrhyncites, together with the Nomos Leptopolites, constituted the province of Arcadia, which subsequently became a metropolitan episcopal see. The natural productions of the Heptanomis resemble those of Upper Egypt generally, and present a more tropical Fauna and Flora than those of the Delta. Its population also was less modified by Greek or Nubian admixture than that of either Lower or Upper Egypt; although, after the 4th century A. D., the Heptanomis was overrun by Arabian marauders, who considerably affected the native races.


hide References (1 total)
  • Cross-references from this page (1):
    • Claudius Ptolemy, Tetrabiblos, 4.5
hide Display Preferences
Greek Display:
Arabic Display:
View by Default:
Browse Bar: