previous next


the son of Ascanius, is said to have been so called because he was born in a wood. All the succeeding kings of Alba bore the cognomen Silvius. The series of these mythical kings is given somewhat differently by Livy, Ovid, and Dionysius, as the following list will show (Liv. 1.3; Ov. Met. 14.609, &c.; Dionys. A. R. 1.70, 71).

Livy. Ovid. Dionysius.
 1. Aeneas. Aeneas. Aeneas.
 2. Ascanius. Ascanius. Ascanius.
 3. Silvius. Silvius. Silvius.
 4. Aeneas Silvius.   Aeneas Silvius.
 5. Latinus Silvius. Latinus. Latinus Silvius.
 6. Alba. Alba. Alba.
 7. Atys. Epytus. Capetus.
 8. Capys. Capys. Capys Silvius.
 9. Capetus. Capetus. Calpetus.
10. Tiberinus. Tiberinus. Tiberinus.
11. Agrippa. Remulus. Agrippa.
12. Romulus Silvius. Acrota. Alladius.
13. Aventinus. Aventinus. Aventinus.
14. Proca. Palatinus. Procas.
15. Amulius. Amulius. Amulius.

hide References (2 total)
  • Cross-references from this page (2):
    • Livy, The History of Rome, Book 1, 3
    • Ovid, Metamorphoses, 14.609
hide Display Preferences
Greek Display:
Arabic Display:
View by Default:
Browse Bar: