previous next

Treaty of Aix-la-chapelle,

A treaty between Great Britain, France, Holland, Germany, Spain, and Greece; signed by the representatives of these respective powers on Oct. 18 (N. S.), 1748. By it the treaties of Westphalia (1648), of Nimeguen (1678-79), of Ryswick (1697), of Utrecht (1713), of Baden (1714), of the Triple Alliance (1717), of the Quadruple Alliance (1718), and of Vienna (1738), were renewed and confirmed. It was fondly hoped this treaty would insure a permanent peace for Europe. It was, however, only a truce between France and England, contending for dominion in America. The English regarded as encroachments the erection by the French of about twenty forts, besides block-houses and tradingposts, within claimed English domain. So while Acadia (q. v.) furnished one field for hostilities between the two nations, the country along the lakes and in the Ohio and Mississippi valleys furnished another.

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 3.0 United States License.

An XML version of this text is available for download, with the additional restriction that you offer Perseus any modifications you make. Perseus provides credit for all accepted changes, storing new additions in a versioning system.

hide People (automatically extracted)
Sort people alphabetically, as they appear on the page, by frequency
Click on a person to search for him/her in this document.
Baden (1)
hide Dates (automatically extracted)
Sort dates alphabetically, as they appear on the page, by frequency
Click on a date to search for it in this document.
1779 AD (1)
1748 AD (1)
1738 AD (1)
1718 AD (1)
1717 AD (1)
1714 AD (1)
1713 AD (1)
1697 AD (1)
1678 AD (1)
1648 AD (1)
October 18th (1)
hide Display Preferences
Greek Display:
Arabic Display:
View by Default:
Browse Bar: