previous next

New Hampshire.

In 1776 the colony of New Hampshire made a public declaration of independence, and established a temporary government to last during the war. On June 12, 1781, a convention framed a State constitution, which, after numerous alterations, went into force June 2, 1784. The constitution provided that once in seven years it

State seal of New Hampshire.

should be submitted to a vote of the people on proposed amendments. This was done in September, 1791, and the constitution then adopted continues to be the supreme law of the State. A convention sitting in Concord from Nov. 6, 1850, to April 17, 1851, considered numerous proposed amendments, but only one was adopted—namely, removing the property qualifications of representatives. The aggregate number of troops furnished by New Hampshire for the National army during the Civil War was 34,605, of whom 5,518 perished in battle, and 11,039 were disabled by wounds and sickness. Population in 1890, 376,530; in 1900, 411,588 See United States, New Hampshire, in vol. IX.


Mesheck Weareassumes office1775
John Langdon assumes office1785
John Sullivan assumes office1786
John Langdonassumes office1788
John Sullivanassumes office1789
Josiah Bartlettassumes office1794
John Taylor Gilman.assumes office1794
John Langdon assumes office1805
Jeremiah Smithassumes office1809
John Langdonassumes office1810
William Plumerassumes office1812
John Taylor Gilman assumes office1813
William Plumerassumes office1816
Samuel Bellassumes office1819
Levi Woodburyassumes office1823
David L. Morrillassumes office1824
Benjamin Pierceassumes office1827
John Bellassumes office1828
Benjamin Pierceassumes office1829
Matthew Harveyassumes office1830
Joseph M. HarperactingFeb., 1831
Samuel Dinsmoorassumes officeJune, 1831
William Badgerassumes office1834
Isaac Hillassumes office1836
John Pageassumes office1839
Henry Hubbardassumes office1842
John H. Steeleassumes office1844
Anthony Colbyassumes office1846
Jared W. Williamsassumes office1847
Samuel Dinsmoorassumes office1849
Noah Martin assumes office1852
Nathaniel B. Baker.assumes office1854
Ralph Metcalfassumes office1855
William Haileassumes office1857
Ichabod Goodwinassumes office1859
Nathaniel S. Berryassumes office1861
Joseph A. Gilmoreassumes office1863
Frederick Smythassumes office1865
Walter Harrimanassumes office1867
Onslow Stearnsassumes office1869
James A. Westonassumes office1871
Ezekiel A. Strawassumes office1872
James A. Westonassumes office1874
Person C. Cheneyassumes office1875
Benjamin F. Prescott.assumes office1877
Nathaniel Headassumes office1879
Charles H. Bellassumes office1881
Samuel W. Haleassumes office1883
Moody Currierassumes office1885
Charles H. Sawyerassumes office1887
David H. Goodellassumes office1889
Hiram A. Tuttleassumes office1891
John B. Smithassumes office1893
Charles A. Busielassumes office1895
George A. Ramsdellassumes office1897
Frank W. Rollinsassumes office1899
Chester B. Jordanassumes office1901


United States Senators.

Name No. of Congress. Term
John Langdon1st 1789
Paine Wingate1st to 3d 1789 to 1793
Samuel Livermore3d to 6th 1793 to 1801
James Sheafe7th1801 to 1802
Simeon Olcott7th to 9th 1801 to 1805
William Plumer7th to 19th 1802 to 1807
Nicholas Gilman9th to 13th 1805 to 1814
Nahum Parker10th1807 to 1810
Charles Cutts11th 1810
Jeremiah Mason13th to 15th 1813 to 1817
Thomas W. Thompson13th to 14th 1815 to 1817
David L. Morrill14th to 18th1817 to 1823
Clement Storer15th to 16th 1817 to 1819
John F. Parrott16th to 19th 1819 to 1825
Samuel Bell18th to 24th 1823 to 1836
Levi Woodbury19th to 22d 1825 to 1831
Isaac Hill22d to 24th 1831 to 1836
John Page24th 1836
Henry Hubbard24th to 27th 1836 to 1842
Franklin Pierce25th to 27th 1837 to 1842
Leonard Wilcox27th 1842
Levi Woodbury27th to 29th 1842 to 1845
Charles G. Atherton28th to 31st1843 to 1849
Benning J. Jenness29th 1845 to 1846
Joseph Cilley to 1846 to 1847
John P. Hale30th to 33d 1847 to 1853
Moses Norris. Jr.31st to 33d 1849 to 1855
Charles G. Atherton33d 1853
Jared W. Williamsto1853
John S. Wellsto1855
James Bell 34th 1855 to 1857
John P. Hale34th to 38th 1855 to 1865
Daniel Clark35th to 39th 1857 to 1866
George G. Fogg39th 1866 to 1867
Aaron H. Cragin39th to 44th 1866 to 1875
James W. Patterson40th to 43d 1867 to 1873
Bainbridge Wadleigh43d to 46th 1873 to 1879
Edward H. Rollins45th to 48th 1877 to 1883
Henry W. Blair46th to 52d 1879 to 1891
Austin F. Pike48th to 49th 1883 to 1886
Person C. Cheney49th to 50th 1886 to1888
William E. Chandler50th to 57th 1888 to 1901
Jacob H. Gallinger52d to — 1891 to —
Henry E. Burnham57th to —1901 to —

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 3.0 United States License.

An XML version of this text is available for download, with the additional restriction that you offer Perseus any modifications you make. Perseus provides credit for all accepted changes, storing new additions in a versioning system.

hide Places (automatically extracted)
hide People (automatically extracted)
Sort people alphabetically, as they appear on the page, by frequency
Click on a person to search for him/her in this document.
Levi Woodbury (3)
William Plumer (3)
Jared W. Williams (2)
James A. Weston (2)
John Sullivan (2)
Benjamin Pierce (2)
David L. Morrill (2)
Henry Hubbard (2)
John Parker Hale (2)
John Taylor Gilman (2)
Samuel Dinsmoor (2)
Person C. Cheney (2)
Samuel Bell (2)
Charles G. Atherton (2)
Paine Wingate (1)
Leonard Wilcox (1)
John S. Wells (1)
Mesheck Weare (1)
Bainbridge Wadleigh (1)
Hiram A. Tuttle (1)
Thomas W. Thompson (1)
Ezekiel A. Straw (1)
Clement Storer (1)
John H. Steele (1)
Onslow Stearns (1)
Frederick Smyth (1)
John Bayard Smith (1)
Jeremiah Smith (1)
James Sheafe (1)
Charles H. Sawyer (1)
Frank W. Rollins (1)
Edward H. Rollins (1)
George A. Ramsdell (1)
Benjamin F. Prescott (1)
Austin F. Pike (1)
Franklin Pierce (1)
James W. Patterson (1)
John F. Parrott (1)
Nahum Parker (1)
Simeon Olcott (1)
Moses Norris (1)
Ralph Metcalf (1)
Jeremiah Mason (1)
Noah Martin (1)
Samuel Livermore (1)
Chester B. Jordan (1)
Benning J. Jenness (1)
Matthew Harvey (1)
Walter Harriman (1)
Joseph M. Harper (1)
Samuel W. Hale (1)
William Haile (1)
Ichabod Goodwin (1)
David H. Goodell (1)
Joseph Albree Gilmore (1)
Nicholas Gilman (1)
Jacob H. Gallinger (1)
George G. Fogg (1)
Charles Cutts (1)
Moody Currier (1)
Aaron H. Cragin (1)
Anthony Colby (1)
Daniel Clark (1)
Joseph Cilley (1)
William Eaton Chandler (1)
Charles A. Busiel (1)
Henry E. Burnham (1)
Henry William Blair (1)
Nathaniel S. Berry (1)
John Bell (1)
James Bell (1)
Charles Henry Bell (1)
Josiah Bartlett (1)
Nathaniel B. Baker (1)
William Badger (1)
hide Dates (automatically extracted)
hide Display Preferences
Greek Display:
Arabic Display:
View by Default:
Browse Bar: