previous next

Virginia Post-office affairs,

--Post-offices have been established as follows: White head's Store, Pittsylvania co., A. J. White. head, postmaster. Mount Airy, Pittsylvania county, Joshua J. Hubbard, postmaster.--Spring Mills, Appomattox county, Thos. A. Hancock, postmaster.

Appointments.--Martin Crouse, postmaster at Tumbling Creek, Tazewell county, vice James B. Crabtree, deceased. L. G. Martin, postmaster at Rosby's Rock, Marshall county, vice John L. Gibson, deceased. J, W. Bowman, postmaster at Lebanon Church, Shenandoah county, vice Jonathan Meadley, resigned. Robert Jackson, postmaster at West Milford, Harrison county, vice Marquis G. Patton, resigned, W. N. Horn; postmaster at Sneedville, Washington county, vice T. B. Edmundson, resigned. Wilson Bane, postmaster at Whits Gate, Giles county, vice James W. Newcomb, resigned. George W. Singleton, postmaster at Australia, Nansemond county, vice Wm. H. Smith, resigned. Susan Hank, postmaster at Maple Lawn, Monroe county, vice H. J. Male, resigned.--James H. Wangh, postmaster at Hockett's Bottom, Amherst county, vice Jno. D. Burch, resigned. My Myers, postmaster at Hainesville, Berkeley county, vice James Turner, removed, Edward T. Osborn, postmaster at Grafton, Taylor county, vice M. Campbell, removed.

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 3.0 United States License.

An XML version of this text is available for download, with the additional restriction that you offer Perseus any modifications you make. Perseus provides credit for all accepted changes, storing new additions in a versioning system.

hide Display Preferences
Greek Display:
Arabic Display:
View by Default:
Browse Bar: