previous next

The New C. S. Senators.

--Of the present Senatorial representation in Congress the terms of eight expire in February, to wit: Messrs. Clay, of Alabama; Johnston, of Arkansas; Johnston, of Georgia; Baker, of Florida, Simms, of Kentucky; Phelan, of Mississippi; Clark, of Missouri; Davis, of North Carolina. Messrs. Johnston, of Georgia; and Baker, of Florida; have been re-elected. Mr. Phelan is superceded by J. W. C. Watson, and Mr. Davis by Wm A. Graham, formerly candidate for the Vice-Presidency with Fillmore. The vacancies from the border States will probably be supplied by appointment, the Legislatures being unable to assemble for the purpose of filling them.

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 3.0 United States License.

An XML version of this text is available for download, with the additional restriction that you offer Perseus any modifications you make. Perseus provides credit for all accepted changes, storing new additions in a versioning system.

hide Places (automatically extracted)
hide People (automatically extracted)
Sort people alphabetically, as they appear on the page, by frequency
Click on a person to search for him/her in this document.
Joseph E. Johnston (3)
Phelan (2)
Davis (2)
Baker (2)
J. W. C. Watson (1)
Simms (1)
C. S. Senators (1)
Wm A. Graham (1)
Fillmore (1)
Clay (1)
Clark (1)
hide Dates (automatically extracted)
Sort dates alphabetically, as they appear on the page, by frequency
Click on a date to search for it in this document.
February (1)
hide Display Preferences
Greek Display:
Arabic Display:
View by Default:
Browse Bar: