Browsing named entities in The Daily Dispatch: August 11, 1864., [Electronic resource]. You can also browse the collection for William Bell or search for William Bell in all documents.

Your search returned 3 results in 2 document sections:

intended next morning, but the Yankees, unwilling to risk an open fight, moved off during the night in the direction of Tupelo. A strong rear guard being left, it was some time before their movement was discovered. Part of our forces were sent in pursuit of the enemy, and the rest endeavored to cut him off from Tupelo; but when this force reached the point of intersection of the two roads, it was found that the Federal had already passed most of their trains and secured a strong position. Bell's brigade, of Buford's division, being the first to arrive, charged the enemy; but being flanked on both sides, was compelled to fall back. Our loss in this charge was heavy, especially in officers. The enemy then moved on to Harrisburg, a small village two miles west of Tupelo. Here they spent the night in fortifying, and well did they improve the time. A strong position was selected, to reach which our troops had to pass over an open field, exposed to the deadly fire of the enemy's
H. Ellis acting as chairman, the following officers were elected: William P. Munford, President. H. E. C. Baskerville, Treasurer. William H. Pleasants, Secretary. James L. Maury, Threctors. Dr. William H. Gwathmey, Threctors. William Bell, Threctors. the Directory were requested to consider the various subjects proposed for action, and report to a called meeting of the Committee. the following gentlemen compose the Relief Committee. H. E. C. Baskerville, WilliaWilliam Bell, Dr. C. G. Barney, Wm. H. Clemmitt, Robert J. Christian, Lewis D. Crenshaw, J. R. Chamberlayne, W. H. Denerson, Dr. G. H. Ellerson, Thomas H. Ellis, Dr. Wm. H. Gwathmey, George Gibson, P. H. Gibson, James Gordon, Blackburn Hughes, Abner F. Harvey, Samuel J. Harrison, Judge Wm. H. Lyons, J. L. Maury, Wm. P. Munford, Thomas W. McCance, P. Cary Nicholas, Samuel M. Price, Wm. H. Pleasants, J. D. K. Sleight, John Randolph Tucker, Asa Snyder,