hide Matching Documents

The documents where this entity occurs most often are shown below. Click on a document to open it.

Document Max. Freq Min. Freq
Col. John M. Harrell, Confederate Military History, a library of Confederate States Military History: Volume 10.2, Arkansas (ed. Clement Anselm Evans) 2 0 Browse Search
View all matching documents...

Your search returned 2 results in 1 document section:

y. The regiment was mustered out in 1861. Its colonel did not again enter the service, and after the reconstruction he was elected United States senator. McRae's battalion, first organized with eight companies, and increased to a regiment, was commanded by Col. Dandridge McRae, of Searcy; Lieut.-Col. J. M. Hobbs, of Benton county; Maj. L. L. Thompson; James Hobbs was quartermaster; Dr. Bourland, of Van Buren, surgeon. The captains were Morris Hobbs; J. B. Cooper, of Benton county; S. B. Buchanan, of Washington county; Caleb Davis, of Pope county; Hallowell, of Yell county; Knott, of Franklin county, and Douglas, of Benton county. The battalion fought at Oak Hills and Elkhorn; was transferred to the east of the Mississippi, and participated in the battles of Farmington, Iuka, Corinth, Baker's Creek, and in the siege of Vicksburg. Exchanged at Vicksburg, it was reorganized west of the Mississippi, and with Gause's, Glenn's, Hart's and Morgan's regiments, formed a brigade command