hide Matching Documents

Your search returned 8 results in 4 document sections:

Loudoun county. --The County Court of Loudoun has voted $50,000 for the purpose of arming the county, and placing the same in a state of defence. Major C. B. Ball, B. P. Noland, Esq., Col. John George and Matthew Harrison, Esq., are in the field for the Legislature. These gentlemen have declared themselves in favor of secession.
ex. 22. Caroline and Spotsylvania. 23. Stafford, King George and Prince William. 26. Fauquier and Rappahannock. 27. Madison, Culpeper, Orange and Greene. 29. Louisa, Goochland and Fluvanna. 30. Nelson, Amherst and Buckingham. 31. Jefferson and Berkeley. 32. Hampshire, Hardy and Morgan. 34. Shenandoah and Page. 36. Augusta. 37. Bath, Highland and Rockbridge. 38. Botetourt, Allegheny, Roanoke and Craig. 39. Carroll, Floyd, Grayson, Montgomery and Pulaski. 42. Scott, Lee, Russell and Wise.--46. Ritchie, Doddridge, Harrison, Pleasants and Wood. 48. Upshur, Barbour, Lewis, Gilmer, Randolph and Tucker. 50. Brooke, Hancock and Ohio. The Faculty will proceed to fill the foregoing vacancies on the5th of July next. Applications for appointment, accompanied by proper testimonials, should be addressed to the Chairman, and should reach the University by the 30th of June. Should there be no suitable applicant from a District, the vacancy will be filled from the State at large.
R U Crockett, W G T Nelson, Jas W. Cuslis, H B Woodhouse, Albert Leidfey, John Orgain, Jr., Colin Buss, Peter Saunders, Jr., S McCaman, John H Hopkins, H C Worsham, Wm A Bradford, George Tyler, Geo T G. Triton. Chas J. Shannon, Wm Eggleston, Richard H Baker, Jr. Jas B Roer, John C Rutherfoord, Willoughby Newton, Charles Grattan, John R Edmunds, Wm M Tate, Jno T Anderson, Thos H Flood, Mason Mathews, Charles Blue, Samuel McB Reid, Matthew Harrison, D H Gordon Jno L Woolfolk, A L Carter, W Biskervill, Jr, R R Nelson Jno O Stener Warnes Anderson, A B Evans, Richard Liby, C W Murdaugh, Robert J Davis, A. W. McDonald, Jr. Thos C Green, A. S. Buford, R. B. Dice, Thos H. Gillespie, Geo. W Sherrard, Wm Johnson. John Gatewood, P Piman, Francis G Taylor, E J Spady, W G Cazenove, James Franklin, John Gilmer, Seymour Lynn, Adam, mall, Lasac Vermillion, David B. Clark James Walker
n granting amnesty to citizens of Virginia who have taken the oath of allegiance to the U. S. Government. On motion of Mr. Blus, the Senate joint resolution to establish a tan ard in connection with the State's prison, was referred to the Committee on the Penitentiary. Mr. Garrison offered the following preamble and resolution, which were adopted. Whereas, information has been received that Adam Small, a member of this House of Delegates, from the county of Berkeley, and Matthew Harrison, a member of the said House, from the county of Loudoun, have been captured by the enemy and are now confined in prison: Therefore. Be it Resolved by the House of Delegates, That the Governor of the Commonwealth be instructed to communicate to the President the fact of the capture and imprisonment of the said Adam Small and the said Matthew Harrison, and that he do request the President to use every means in his power consistent with his duties and the laws and regulations of the C