hide Matching Documents

The documents where this entity occurs most often are shown below. Click on a document to open it.

Document Max. Freq Min. Freq
Benson J. Lossing, Pictorial Field Book of the Civil War. Volume 1. 8 2 Browse Search
Harper's Encyclopedia of United States History (ed. Benson Lossing) 5 1 Browse Search
John Dimitry , A. M., Confederate Military History, a library of Confederate States Military History: Volume 10.1, Louisiana (ed. Clement Anselm Evans) 4 2 Browse Search
View all matching documents...

Your search returned 17 results in 3 document sections:

Benson J. Lossing, Pictorial Field Book of the Civil War. Volume 1., Chapter 7: Secession Conventions in six States. (search)
e same place on the 23d. The number of delegates present was one hundred and thirty. Ex-Governor Alexander Mouton, an intimate friend and willing instrument of Slidell, The politicians more directave had the management of the Convention. It had been all arranged beforehand, apparently, that Mouton should be made President of that body. He was elected on the first ballot. As early as the 14tfrom the Capitol at Washington, To the Convention of the State of Louisiana, directed to Hon. Alexander Mouton, President of the Convention, &c. This letter (the original is before me) occupies six pe original. was chosen President, and J. Thomas Wheat, Secretary. J. L. Manning, Signature of Mouton and Wheat. of South Carolina, and J. A. Winston, of Alabama, Commissioners from their respectivelt was known, there was an outburst of the most enthusiastic applause. It ceased, and then President Mouton arose, with great solemnity of manner, and said:--In virtue of the vote just announced, I n
Harper's Encyclopedia of United States History (ed. Benson Lossing), Louisiana, (search)
opeful. The convention met at Baton Rouge, Jan. 23. The legislature had convened there on the 21st. The number of delegates in the convention was 130. Ex-Gov. Alexander Mouton was chosen president, and J. Thomas Wheat, secretary. Commissioners from South Carolina and Alabama were there, and were invited to seats in the conventrbigny1828 to 1829 A. Beauvwis 1829 to 1830 Jacques Dupre1830 to 1831 Andre B. Roman1831 to 1834 Edward D. White1834 to 1838 Andre B. Roman1838 to 1841 Alexander Mouton1841 to 1845 Isaac Johnson1845 to 1850 Joseph Walker1850 to 1854 Paul O. Hebert1854 to 1858 Robert C. Wickliffe1858 to 1860 Thomas O. Moore1860 to 1863 osiah S. Johnston18th to 23d 1824 to 1833 Edward Livingston 21st to 22d 1829 to 1831 George A. Waggaman 22d1832 Alexander Porter 23d to 24th1834 to 1837 Alexander Mouton 24th to 27th 1837 to 1842 Robert C. Nicholas 24th to 26th 1836 to 1841 Charles M. Conrad 27th 1842 to 1843 Alexander Barrow 27th to 29th 1841 to 1846 Ale
presented an according majority of 280. The vote had been light on both sides; but the feeling for immediate secession was not to be mistaken. With ex-Governor Alexander Mouton president, the convention met in the hall of representatives, Baton Rouge, January 23, 1861. Events thronged. The next day, the 24th, Hon. John PerkiThe president signed first; the others, having been provided each with a gold pen to inscribe his name, followed. The vote had no sooner been announced than President Mouton declared the connection of Louisiana with the United States dissolved, and the Federal authority therein null and void. Before adjourning to meet on Januahe occasion was made an outlet for enthusiasm. The convention left the Lyceum hall to fraternize with the troops. Its members, preceded by its president, Hon. Alexander Mouton, walking arm in arm with Lieutenant-Governor Hyams, marched into the square and formed in line to the left of the commands. Meanwhile Mayor Monroe and Col