hide Matching Documents

The documents where this entity occurs most often are shown below. Click on a document to open it.

Document Max. Freq Min. Freq
Medford Historical Society Papers, Volume 13. 2 0 Browse Search
Medford Historical Society Papers, Volume 14. 2 0 Browse Search
View all matching documents...

Your search returned 4 results in 2 document sections:

Medford Historical Society Papers, Volume 13., Ancient legal contentions in upper Medford. (search)
Ancient legal contentions in upper Medford. by Arthur E. Whitney, of Winchester. [Read before the Medford Historical Society, April 3, 1909.] TWO hundred and fifty years ago our colonial ancestors did not agree in all things any more than do their descendants of today. The court records show that legal disputes were fully as popular, according to population, and as necessary, perhaps, for the good of society, as they are at present. Some of these contentions are interesting as showing the characteristics of the people who engaged in them, and the manner of dispensing justice in the early days of the colony. The first contest to which attention is called, relates to an acute misunderstanding between Edward Collins of Medford (Governor Cradock's successor in ownership of the Cradock plantation) and Josiah Converse of Woburn, who owned the ancient corne mill and farm, which descended to him from Edward Converse, the father of Woburn, who built the first house and mill in wha
Medford Historical Society Papers, Volume 14., Medford Historical Society. (search)
n and Curator. Miss Agnes W. Lincoln. Custodians of real estate. President, Corresponding Secretary, treasurer. Standing committees. Publication. George S. T. Fuller, Chairman. Miss Annie E. Durgin. Miss Helen T. Wild. Moses W. Mann. H. N. Ackerman. Membership. C. Arthur Platts, Chairman. Elisha B. Curtis. Mrs. Ellen M. Gill. Mrs. Julia W. Dalrymple. Mrs. Elsie R. Perkins. Mrs. H. A. C. Scott. Papers and addresses. Henry E. Scott, Chairman. Arthur E. Whitney. Mrs. Adelaide E. Cordis. Geo. W. Parsons. Mrs. Louise G. Delong. John H. Hooper. Miss Katharine H. Stone. Historic sites. Moses W. Mann, Chairman. Francis A. Wait. Miss Catharine E. Harlow. Miss Ella L. Burbank. Frederick H. Kidder. Charles N. Jones. Genealogy. Miss Eliza M. Gill, Chairman. Mrs. Edith G. Dennis. Miss Hetty F. Wait. Mrs. James E. Cleaves. Heraldry. Charles B. Dunham, Chairman. John Albree. Orrin E. Hodsdon. Chas. H. Loomis. Li