Browsing named entities in The Cambridge of eighteen hundred and ninety-six: a picture of the city and its industries fifty years after its incorporation (ed. Arthur Gilman). You can also browse the collection for Robert C. Winthrop or search for Robert C. Winthrop in all documents.

Your search returned 2 results in 2 document sections:

temple; beneath which rest the remains of Hon. Samuel Appleton. Others eminent in public life rest here in this sacred soil:— Charles Sumner.Rufus Choate. Louis Agassiz.Rev. Wm. Ellery Channing. President C. C. Felton.Edwin Booth. Gov. Edward Everett.Charlotte Cushman. Gov. Emory Washburn.Joseph E. Worcester. Anson Burlingame.Bishop Phillips Brooks. President Josiah Quincy.James Russell Lowell. John G. Palfrey.Rev. A. Holmes, D. D. President Sparks.Oliver Wendell Holmes. Robert C. Winthrop. On Gentian Path is a beautiful granite obelisk, erected by Thomas Dowse, on which is inscribed— To the memory of Benjamin Franklin, the printer, the philosopher, the statesman, the patriot, who by his wisdom blessed his country, and his age, and bequeathed to the world an illustrious example of industry, integrity, and self-culture. born in Boston, Mdccvi., died in Philadelphia, Mdccxc. The number of interments to January 1, 1896, is 30,861. Mount Auburn's greatest interes
e servants of Christ will do for his glory and the salvation of the world in the years to come. St. John's Memorial Chapel was built in 1869, by Mr. Robert Means Mason. Lawrence Hall, completed in 1880, is the gift of Mr. Amos Adams Lawrence. Reed Hall, containing the library, was built in 1875, by the founder, Mr. Reed. Four years after, Mr. John Appleton Burnham built Burnham Hall, the refectory. In 1893 Winthrop Hall was built by friends of the school, and was named after the Hon. Robert C. Winthrop, who until his death was president of the board of trustees of the school. The Deanery was given to the school by Mrs. Gray, after the death of Dean Gray. The first dean was the Rev. Dr. John S. Stone, who served the school from 1867 to 1876. Dean Gray followed him, from 1876 to 1889. The next dean was Dr. William Lawrence, now Bishop of Massachusetts. He was succeeded, upon his election as bishop, by the present dean, Dr. George Hodges. Of the professors, Dr. Allen and