hide Matching Documents

The documents where this entity occurs most often are shown below. Click on a document to open it.

Document Max. Freq Min. Freq
The Daily Dispatch: January 7, 1862., [Electronic resource] 1 1 Browse Search
The Daily Dispatch: June 1, 1863., [Electronic resource] 1 1 Browse Search
View all matching documents...

Your search returned 30 results in 14 document sections:

1 2
The Congressional election. It is now believed that Walter Preston has been elected as the representative from the 13th district, instead of Fayette McMullen, as heretofore stated. The reports from other districts do not vary from previous publications, though a portion of the State yet remains to be heard from. We are requested to publish the official vote of Rockbridge county, as follows: For Congress — Baldwin 250, Sheen 169, Harper 72, Coffman 55. For Davis and Stephens 580.
Destructive fire. --The family residence and all the outhouses attacked. belonging to the Hon. Fayette McMullen, in Smath county, Virginia, three miles west of Marion, were destroyed by fire on Wednesday between two and three o'clock. The furniture, &c., were all consumed. The buildings are situated immediately on the Virginia and Tennessee railroad, and it is supposed the fire was communicated by sparks from an engine which passed a short time before the fire broke out.
of Dejarnette. In the 9th District Col. Funsten is elected over Mr. Menifee. In the 10th District Mr. Boteler, the present member, was opposed by Col. F. W. M. Holliday, who is supposed to be elected. In the 11th District Col. Baldwin is re-elected over Gov. Letcher. In the 12th District the candidates were Mr. Staples, present member, and Col. H. A. Edmundson. No returns received. In the 13th District the contest was between Mr. Preston, present member, and Col. Fayette McMullen. Returns favorable to the re-election of Preston. In the 14th District the candidates were Messrs. Fitzhugh and Miller. Mr. Miller is the present member, and is believed to be re-elected. In the 15th District Mr. Johnson, the present member, had no opposition. In the 16th District Mr. Russell, present member, was opposed by Dr. Kidwell. Result not known. Below we give what has been further received about the general election: Pittsylvania County.--In seven prec
. W. Logan. South Carolina.--1st District, James M. Witherspoon; 2d, Wm. Porcher Miles;‖ 3d, Lucius M. Ayer;‖ 4th, Wm. D. Simpson;‖ 5th, James Farrar;‖ 6th, Wm. W. Boyee. Tennessee.--1st District, Joseph B. Heiskell;‖ 2d, Wm. G. Swan‖; 3d, A. S. Colyer; 4th, John P. Murray; 5th, Henry S. Foote‖; 6th, E. A. Keeble; 7th, James McCollum; 8th, Thomas Menees;‖ 9th, John D. C. Atkins‖; 10th, John V. Wright‖; 11th, Daniel M. Currien‖; (deceased.) Texas.--1st District, John A. Wilcox‖, (deceased;) 2d, C. C. Herbert‖; 3d, A. M. Branch; 4th, F. B. Sexton‖; 5th, A. R. Bayler; 6th, S. H. Morgan. Virginia.--1st district, Robert L. Montague; 2d, R. H. Whitfield; 3d, Wms C. Wickham; 4th, T. S. Gholson; 5th, Thomas S. Bocock;‖ 6th, John Goode, Jr;‖ 7th, Wm. C. Rives; 8th; Daniel C. DeJarnett;‖ 9th, David Runsten;‖ 10th, F. W. M. Holliday; 11th, John R. Baldwin;‖ 12th, Waller R. Staples;‖ 13th, Fayette McMullen;‖ 4th, Samuel. A. Miller;‖ 15th, Ro
1 2