previous next

Montana, State of

Is bounded on the north by British Columbia and the Northwest Territory; on the east by North and South Dakota; on the south by Wyoming and Idaho; and on the west by Idaho; area, 146,080 square miles; capital, Helena; admitted to the Union Nov. 8, 1889.

State seal of Montana.

By act of Congress in May, 1864, Montana. was taken from the eastern portion of Idaho and organized as a separate Territory. The State is exceedingly rich in mineral productions, especially gold, silver, copper, lead, and coal. There are also very large and excellent tracts of grazing land. The population in 1890 was 132,159; in 1900, 243,329. See United States, Montana, in vol. IX.

Territorial governors.

Sydney Edgertonterm beginsJune 22, 1864
Thos. Francis Meagheracting1865
Green Clay Smithterm beginsJuly 13, 1866
James M. Ashleyterm beginsApril 9, 1869
Benjamin F. Pottsterm beginsJuly 13, 1870
John Schuyler Crosbyterm begins1883
B. Platt Carpenterterm begins1884
Samuel T. Hauserterm begins1885
Preston H. Leslieterm begins1887
Benjamin F. Whiteterm begins1889

State governors.

Joseph K. Tooleterm beginsNov. 8, 1889
John E. Rickardsterm beginsJan. 1893
Robert B. Smithterm beginsJan. 1897
Joseph K. Tooleterm beginsJan. 1901

United States Senators.

Name.No. of Congress.Term.
Wilbur F. Sanders51st1890 to 1893
Thomas C. Power51st to 54th1890 to 1895
Lee Mantle54th to 56th1895 to 1899
Thomas H. Carter54th to —1895 to 1901
William A. Clark56th to —1901 to 1907
Paris Gibson56th to —1901 to 1905

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 3.0 United States License.

An XML version of this text is available for download, with the additional restriction that you offer Perseus any modifications you make. Perseus provides credit for all accepted changes, storing new additions in a versioning system.

hide Dates (automatically extracted)
hide Display Preferences
Greek Display:
Arabic Display:
View by Default:
Browse Bar: