previous next

Appendix A.

Provisional government of Kentucky.

On the 18th of November, 1861, a sovereignty convention was held in Russellville, Kentucky, at which two hundred members were present, for the purpose of forming a State government favorable to a union with the Southern Confederacy. It remained in session three days and adopted a constitution which provided for a provisional government, vesting all executive and legislative powers in a council of ten, the council to fill vacancies. The existing constitution and laws were declared to be in force except where inconsistent with the acts of that convention and of the legislative council. George W. Johnson, of Scott county, was elected governor; Robert McKee, of Louisville, secretary of state, and Orlando F. Payne, assistant secretary of state; Theodore L. Burnett, of Spencer county, treasurer, who resigned December 17th, and J. B. Burnham, of Warren county, was appointed in his place; Richard Hawes, of Bourbon county, auditor, who resigned, and Joshua Pillsbury was appointed in his place. A. Frank Brown, of Bourbon county, was chosen clerk of the council; John B. Thompson, Jr., of Mercer county, sergeant-at-arms, and Walter N. Haldeman, of Louisville, State printer. An ordinance of secession was adopted, and Henry C. Burnett, William E. Simms and William Preston were sent as commissioners to Richmond, and on the 10th day of December, 1862, the Confederate Congress admitted Kentucky as a member of the Confederate States. Bowling Green was made the new seat of government. The following executive council was chosen: Willis B. Machen, president; John W. Crockett, Philip B. Thompson, James P. Bates, James [214] S. Chrisman, Elijah Burnside, H. W. Bruce, E. M. Bruce, James M. Thorn, and Geo. B. Hodge, who resigned and was succeeded by Samuel S. Scott. 1

The following were elected representatives in the Provisional Congress from the several districts: First, Henry C. Burnett; Second, John Thomas; Third, Theodore L. Burnett; Fourth, Geo. W. Ewing; Fifth, Daniel P. White; Sixth, Thomas Johnson; Seventh, Samuel H. Ford; Eighth, Thomas B. Monroe, Sr; Ninth, John M. Elliott; Tenth, Geo. B. Hodge.

The council divided the State into twelve districts and provided for an election by the State at large of persons to represent these districts in the first permanent Congress of the Confederate States. On the designated day voting places were fixed and the election was held in all the counties within the lines of the Confederate army, resulting in the choice of the following: First district, Willis B. Machen; Second district, John W. Crockett; Third district, Henry E. Read; Fourth district, Geo. W. Ewing; Fifth district, James S. Chrisman; Sixth district, Theodore L. Burnett; Seventh district, H. W. Bruce; Eighth district, George B. Hodge; Ninth district, E. M. Bruce; Tenth district, James W. Moore; Eleventh district, Robert J. Breckinridge, Jr.; Twelfth district, John M. Elliott. These gentlemen served in the first regular Confederate Congress. Of the number, Messrs. Burnett, H. W. Bruce and Breckinridge survive, 1898. Mr. Machen was afterwards United States senator, 1873; John M. Elliott, judge of the court of appeals, 1878, and H. W. Bruce, circuit judge of the Louisville circuit court, 1868-73, and chancellor of the Louisville chancery court, 1874-80, while Geo. B. Hodge and Robert J. Breckinridge served as State senators, and James S. Chrisman as representative.

In 1863 the following were elected and sent as members of the second permanent Congress: First district, Willis B. Machen; Second district, Geo. W. Triplett: Third [215] district, Henry E. Read; Fourth district, Geo. W. Ewing; Fifth district, Jas. S. Chrisman; Sixth district, Theodore L. Burnett; Seventh district, H. W. Bruce; Eighth district, Humphrey Marshall; Ninth district, E. M. Bruce; Tenth district, James W. Moore; Eleventh district, Ben. F. Bradley; Twelfth district, John M. Elliott. Mr. Bradley afterwards served as State senator.

The legislative council, upon the admission of the State, elected Henry C. Burnett and William E. Simms senators to the Confederate Congress, and they served through the war. Upon the death of Gov. George W. Johnson, who fell on the second day at Shiloh, while fighting in the ranks, the legislative council elected Hon. Richard Hawes his successor. While the State was occupied by the Confederate army under General Bragg, Governor Hawes was inaugurated with due formality, and he delivered an inaugural address in the capitol at Frankfort, October 4, 1862, but the evacuation of the place the same afternoon prevented his performance of any of the functions of governor except the occupation of the executive mansion for a few hours. After the war he was county judge of Bourbon county for many years.

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 3.0 United States License.

An XML version of this text is available for download, with the additional restriction that you offer Perseus any modifications you make. Perseus provides credit for all accepted changes, storing new additions in a versioning system.

hide Dates (automatically extracted)
Sort dates alphabetically, as they appear on the page, by frequency
Click on a date to search for it in this document.
1873 AD (2)
1898 AD (1)
1880 AD (1)
1878 AD (1)
1874 AD (1)
1868 AD (1)
1863 AD (1)
December 10th, 1862 AD (1)
October 4th, 1862 AD (1)
November 18th, 1861 AD (1)
December 17th (1)
hide Display Preferences
Greek Display:
Arabic Display:
View by Default:
Browse Bar: