previous next

Italy United.

--Italy, which lost her independence when she lost her unity, has, after long years of separation into States hostile to each other, again achieved her redemption, and is now once more an united government under Victor Emmanuel. The only provinces not included are those held by the Pope and Venetia. The united government is now composed of Sardinia, Lombardy, Naples, Sicily, Tuscany, Modena and Parma, having about 100,000 square miles, and 20,000,000 of inhabitants. For a long course of years Italy has been the prey of every nation, but now united will be one of the great powers of Europe, able to defend her rights, and powerful enough to be consulted in the Congress of European nation, to settle of international of these which concern the of

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 3.0 United States License.

An XML version of this text is available for download, with the additional restriction that you offer Perseus any modifications you make. Perseus provides credit for all accepted changes, storing new additions in a versioning system.

hide Places (automatically extracted)

View a map of the most frequently mentioned places in this document.

Sort places alphabetically, as they appear on the page, by frequency
Click on a place to search for it in this document.
Tuscany (Italy) (1)
Parma (Italy) (1)
Lombardy (Italy) (1)

Download Pleiades ancient places geospacial dataset for this text.

hide People (automatically extracted)
Sort people alphabetically, as they appear on the page, by frequency
Click on a person to search for him/her in this document.
Victor Emmanuel (1)
hide Display Preferences
Greek Display:
Arabic Display:
View by Default:
Browse Bar: