previous next

Confederate Congress.
first session.

Yesterday along before the hour arrived, a large crowd had assembled at the Capitol to witness the inauguration of the Permanent Government of the Confederate States, in the convocation and organization of the new Congress. The hall of the House of Representatives, for half an hour previous to the tap of the Speaker's gavel, was a complete jam, the crowd consisting of the members elect, the members of the Virginia Legislature, citizens, and last, though not least, a considerable number of ladies — all anxious to witness the proceedings incident to an occasion so interesting, and yet so solemn and impressive. Dense as was the throng, and meagre as the accommodations were, there was not the slightest demonstration of disorder, and everything passed off quietly.


Tuesday, Feb. 18, 1862.

The Senate convened at noon. The Vice President elect of the Confederate States, Hon. A. H. Stephens, in the Chair.

The Vice President, under the authority of the Constitution, formally opened the session of the Senate. He called the attention of Senators to the published acts passed by the Provisional Congress, and caused the temporary clerk to read the last clause of the permanent Constitution; also, the act of the Provisional Congress putting in operation the permanent Government of the Confederate States, and the act supplemental to the same.

The roll being called, the following Senators answered to their names:

Nineteen Senators being present, (a quorum,) the oath to support the Constitution was then administered. The Senators taking the oath in parties of four at a time.

The Vice President announced that the first business before the Senate was the election of a President of the Senate pro tempore.

Mr. Davis, of North Carolina, moved that the Hon. R. M. T. Hunter, of Virginia, be unanimously chosen President of the Senate pro tempore. Carried.

The election of a Secretary of the Senate being in order, the following nominations were made:

Mr. Sparrow, of Louisiana, nominated Richard Charles Downs, of Louisiana.

Mr. Clark, of Missouri, nominated Andrew H. H. Dawson, of Alabama.

Mr. Oldham, of Texas, nominated J. Johnson Hooper, of Alabama.

Mr. Preston, of Virginia, nominated Jno L Eubank, of Virginia.

Mr. Barnwell, of South Carolina, nominated James H. Nash, of South Carolina.

The first ballot resulted as follows: Dawson, 6; Nash, 4; Hooper, 4; Eubank, 2; Downs, 2; Montague, 1. No candidate having a majority.

Four additional ballots were had without an election.

The following was the result of the sixth and last ballot, in detail.

For Mr. Nash.--Messrs. Barnwell, Baker, Brown, Clark, Haynes, Henry, Hill, Hunter, Orr, Preston, and Simms--11.

For Mr. Hooper--Messrs. Davis. Maxwell, Mitchell, Oldham, Peyton, and Sparrow--6.

For Mr. Dawson--Messrs. Johnson and Dortch--2.

James H. Nash, of South Carolina, having a majority of the votes cast, was declared the Secretary of the Senate, and came forward and was duly qualified.

On motion of Mr. Orr, the Senate proceeded to the election of a Doorkeeper.

Two ballots were had, the last resulting in the election of Mr. James Page, of North Carolina.

During the balloting Mr. Winfall, the Senator from Texas, appeared in his seat and subsequently took the oath.

On motion of Mr. Orr, the daily hour for the meeting of the Senate was fixed at 12 o'clock, M.

The Senate then adjourned.

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 3.0 United States License.

An XML version of this text is available for download, with the additional restriction that you offer Perseus any modifications you make. Perseus provides credit for all accepted changes, storing new additions in a versioning system.

hide People (automatically extracted)
Sort people alphabetically, as they appear on the page, by frequency
Click on a person to search for him/her in this document.
Orr (4)
James H. Nash (4)
Sparrow (3)
Preston (3)
Oldham (3)
Hunter (3)
J. Johnson Hooper (3)
Andrew H. H. Dawson (3)
J. L. Davis (3)
William Clark (3)
Barnwell (3)
Simms (2)
Peyton (2)
Mitchell (2)
Maxwell (2)
Henry R. Johnson (2)
R. O. Hill (2)
Henry (2)
Haynes (2)
Eubank (2)
Richard Charles Downs (2)
Dortch (2)
Albert Brown (2)
Baker (2)
Winfall (1)
Stephens (1)
James Page (1)
Montague (1)
Jno (1)
hide Dates (automatically extracted)
Sort dates alphabetically, as they appear on the page, by frequency
Click on a date to search for it in this document.
February 18th, 1862 AD (1)
hide Display Preferences
Greek Display:
Arabic Display:
View by Default:
Browse Bar: