previous next

Baptist Anniversaries.

--The Baptist General Association of Virginia met at the First Baptist Church of this city yesterday afternoon, to hold its — annual meeting. After singing and prayer, the body was organized by electing the following officers:

President--Rev. Ro Ryland, D. D.

1st Vice President--Hon. R. L. Montague,

2d Vice President--Rev. L. W. Seeley, D. D.

3d Vice President--Rev. J. L. Burrows, D. D.

4th Vice President--Rev. A. B. Smith.

SecretaryA. P. Abell.

Treasurer — J. B. Watkins

The rules of order were then read.

Rev. W. E. Hatcher and Rev. W. Slate were appointed Committee on Delegations.

On motion, Rev. J. B. Jeter, D. D., R. L. Montague, and others, were appointed to prepare suitable resolutions in regard to the war.

On motion, the Association adjourned to meet at ten o'clock to day.

The exercises of to-day are likely to be very interesting, as the main subjects to be discussed relate to the state of the country. Considering the times, the attendance is encouraging.

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 3.0 United States License.

An XML version of this text is available for download, with the additional restriction that you offer Perseus any modifications you make. Perseus provides credit for all accepted changes, storing new additions in a versioning system.

hide Places (automatically extracted)

View a map of the most frequently mentioned places in this document.

hide People (automatically extracted)
Sort people alphabetically, as they appear on the page, by frequency
Click on a person to search for him/her in this document.
R. L. Montague (2)
J. B. Watkins (1)
A. B. Smith (1)
W. Slate (1)
L. W. Seeley (1)
Ro Ryland (1)
J. B. Jeter (1)
W. E. Hatcher (1)
J. L. Burrows (1)
A. P. Abell (1)
hide Display Preferences
Greek Display:
Arabic Display:
View by Default:
Browse Bar: