previous next

Mutual Press Association.

James W. Lewellen, (of the Dispatch,) President;

A. M. Bailey, (of the Sentinel,) Vice-President;

Nathaniel Tyler, (of the Enquirer,) Recording Secretary;

P. H. Gibson, General Agent and Corresponding Secretary;

R. F. Walker, (of the Examiner,) Treasurer;

R. M. Smith, of the Sentinel; John M. Daniel, of the Examiner; W. B. Allegre, of the Enquirer, and James A. Cowardin, of the Dispatch, Directors; who, with the above officers, shall have charge of the affairs of the Association.

The proprietor of any newspaper in the Confederacy may be a member of this Association by contributing five dollars per month in advance to the Treasury and forwarding to the General Agent all important news from his locality.

Any member may withdraw from the Association by giving one month's notice to the President and paying up all his dues.

The General Agent, at the Seat of Government, will forward to all members of the Association, accessible by telegraph, all important news from this place, together with synopsis of interesting Congressional proceedings.

The press of each city or town will arrange for its own agency and pay all charges for transmitting messages to themselves.

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 3.0 United States License.

An XML version of this text is available for download, with the additional restriction that you offer Perseus any modifications you make. Perseus provides credit for all accepted changes, storing new additions in a versioning system.

hide Places (automatically extracted)

View a map of the most frequently mentioned places in this document.

hide People (automatically extracted)
Sort people alphabetically, as they appear on the page, by frequency
Click on a person to search for him/her in this document.
Walker (1)
Nathaniel Tyler (1)
Kirby Smith (1)
James W. Lewellen (1)
Gibson (1)
John M. Daniel (1)
James A. Cowardin (1)
Bailey (1)
Allegre (1)
hide Display Preferences
Greek Display:
Arabic Display:
View by Default:
Browse Bar: