hide Matching Documents

Your search returned 6 results in 3 document sections:

The Daily Dispatch: August 1, 1862., [Electronic resource], Affairs on the Rappahannock — depredations of the enemy — the approaching conflict. (search)
e is now a superabundance of flour, corn, rye, oats, hay, bacon, and everything necessary for the sustenance of a large army. The Yankees have no forage wagons, but subsist on the country as they proceed. Fine crops of wheat, stacked in the fields, have been seized for the purpose of feeding their horses. From Mr. Crigler, of Madison, they stole 250 barrels of flour, and on his showing some resistance, fired two shots at him, but he escaped without personal injury. The fine estate of Joshua Miller has been completely devastated. Mrs. M. shed tears at the spectacle presented, when a Yankee remarked, with an oath, that there was time enough to cry when the house was burnt over her head. On Sunday last a party of one hundred stopped near Madison Court-House, dismounted, and scaling the garden fences, stole all the growing vegetables they could find. These marauding parties are generally preceded by two or three Yankee soldiers disguised in Confederate uniforms, who impose themselv
bill, as follows: Yeas.--Messrs. Atkins, Clopton, Cruikshank, Farrow, Fuller, Gilmer, Gray Herbert, Holliday, J. M. Leach, Logan Ramsay, Simpson, Smith of North Carolina, Wickham--15. Nays.--Anderson, Baldwin, Barksdale, Batson, Baylor, Blandford, Bradicy, Branch, Burnett, Carroll, Chambers, Chrisman, Clark, Colyar, Conrad, Conrow, Darden, De Jarnette, Dickinson, Ewing, Funsten, Gaither, Gholson, Goode, Hanly, Hartridge, Hatcher, Johnston, Lyon, Machen, Marshall, McMullin, Menees, Miller, Pugh, Read, Rogers, Russell, Sexton, J. M. Smith, Staples, Swan, Triplett, Wilkes--44. The Chair laid before the House Senate bill "to limit the issue of forage in certain cases." Passed. Mr. Ramsay, of North Carolina, under a suspension of the rules, offered a bill "to allow transportation to certain officers and privates in the army and to discharged and retired officers and soldiers." Referred to the Committee on Military Affairs. On motion of Mr. Swan, the House resolved
Smith, Dr. Richard H. Stuart and Abram B. Hooe. King William.--Josiah Burruss, J. Hill King and Edward Hill. King & Queen.--James M. Jeffries, Richard H. Bagby and William B. Davis. Louisa.--Wellington Gordon, John Hunter and Dr. William S. Fowler. Lunenburg.--John Orgain, jr., Colin Stokes and Frederick Lester. Logan.--Colonel Isaac Morgan, John Justice and G. Dingess. Morgan.--Thomas L. Clark, John Barney and A. L. Michael. Madison.--Robert A. Banks, William A. Hill and Joshua Miller. Mathews.--Walter G. Lane, Thomas M. Hunley and John H. Blake. Meeklenburg.--Tucker Carrington, Alfred Boyd and John B. Northington. Mereer.--Syms Thompson, Davis Calfee and William Houchins. Middlesex.--Andrew B. Evans, Dr. George L. Nicholson and Philip T. Woodward. Montgomery.--William R. Perfater, Thomas D. Childress and David G. Thomas. Nelson.--Joseph H. Shelton, Thomas M. Dickinson, Miles T. Shipman. Nottoway.--Richard Irby, Travis H. Eppes and Alexander H. McQuie.