hide Matching Documents

The documents where this entity occurs most often are shown below. Click on a document to open it.

Document Max. Freq Min. Freq
Col. O. M. Roberts, Confederate Military History, a library of Confederate States Military History: Volume 11.1, Texas (ed. Clement Anselm Evans) 11 1 Browse Search
View all matching documents...

Your search returned 11 results in 6 document sections:

wed, appointed Gen. E. B. Nichols as agent to perform that duty, under the direction of the committee of public safety, which was sanctioned by the convention. The committee held its meetings privately, apart from the body of the convention, acting independently within the scope of the power conferred upon it. It was composed of prominent men from different portions of the State, including some who had experience in military service. They were as follows: John C. Robertson, chairman; John Henry Brown, Jas. H. Rogers of Marion county, J. R. Armstrong, A. T. Rainey, John L. Ford of Cameron county, Wm. P. Rogers of Harris county, C. Ganahl, L. M. Norris, T. S. Lubbock, J. A. Wilcox, J. J. Diamond, J. G. Thompson, T. J. Devine, W. G. Miller, John A. Green, C. L. Cleveland, Jas. Hooker, P. N. Luckett, F. W. Latham. In the report of the committee, March 21, 1861, appears the following account of an interview with the governor as to its mode of procedure: To the Hon. O. M. Rober
been appointed, and to subjects of a political character and not pertaining to military operations, which need not be given at length in this history. The convention provided for submitting the ordinance of secession to a vote of the people, for the mode of election and the return of the votes to the convention. This was followed in the action of the legislature on the same subject. On the same day a committee was appointed to prepare an address to the people of Texas, as follows: John Henry Brown, George Flournoy, Prior Lea, Malcolm D. Gresham of Rusk, A. P. Wiley and J. A. Wilcox. The address was prepared, signed by the members of the convention and published. On February 4th a resolution was passed for the election by the convention of seven delegates to the convention of Southern States at Montgomery. Those chosen were John H. Reagan, Louis T. Wigfall, John Hemphill, T. N. Waul, John Gregg, W. S. Oldham and Wm. B. Ochiltree. An ordinance was passed to secure the friends
, C. M. Winkler, Geo. Baylor, Geo. Flournoy, John R. Baylor, colonels; Wm. Bird, lieutenant-colonel; D. M. Pendergast, John J. Good, W. C. Pitts, captains; and Thos. J. Chambers, aidede-camp to a general in Virginia the first part of the war, though advanced in years. Of the members of the convention who became officers besides John Gregg and John A. Wharton, were Allison Nelson, Wm. P. Hardeman, Jerome B. Robertson, Wm. Scurry, Joseph L. Hogg, brigadier-generals; James. H. Rogers and John Henry Brown, adjutant-generals; Colonels A. T. Rainey, John S. Ford, Wm. P. Rogers, P. N. Luckett, Thos. S. Lubbock, B. F. Terry, A. M. Hobby, E. B. Nichols, J. J. Diamond, Oran M. Roberts, Geo. Flournoy, W. B. Ochiltree, Eli H. Baxter, Isham Chisum, Thos. A. Anderson, M. F. Locke, Robert S. Gould, Tignal W. Jones; Lieutenant-Colonels A. H. Davidson, Thos. C. Frost, A. G. Clopton, Philip A. Work, John Ireland, A. J. Nicholson, Wm. W. Diamond, Jas. E. Shepard, P. T. Herbert, John C. Robertson, C. A.
In the land attack especial commendations are due to Brig.-Gen. W. R. Scurry, Col. X. B. Debray, Major Von Harten, Cook's regiment of artillery; Captain Fontaine, Cook's regiment; Maj. J. Kellersberg of the engineer corps; also to Colonels Cook, Pyron, Lieutenant-Colonel Abercrombie, commanding Elmore's men; Major Griffin, Major Wilson, of the artillery; Captain Mason, Captain McMahan, and to the accomplished and devoted Lieutenant Sherman, who fell at his piece mortally wounded, and to Privates Brown and Shoppman, of Daly's company of cavalry, the latter of whom kept up the fire of one piece, without assistance, under the enemy's grape and canister. The officers of my staff exhibited on this, as on previous occasions, conspicuous ability and gallantry. When some of the men were compelled to leave their pieces at one of the wharves nearest the enemy, Major Dickinson, assistant adjutant-general, calling for volunteers, dashed down the street in order to withdraw the piece. Whilst
ent of a large iron factory in the eastern portion of Anderson county, which was nearly completed at the time of the surrender. The cotton transportation to Mexico, for sale there in exchange for arms and munitions of war, was continued as far as practicable during his administration. The frontier regiment having been transferred to the Confederate States, the governor in May, 1864, reported to the legislature that he had appointed Wm. Quale, Geo. Erath, Jas. M. Hunter (succeeded by John Henry Brown), with the rank of major, to command minute companies on the frontier, and that they were doing good service. Major Throckmorton was made brigadier-general of the militia force on the frontier. Governor Murrah also made the complaint that subordinate officers on the Rio Grande, claiming to act under orders of officers higher in rank in the Confederate States service, had interfered with cotton transportation under the authority of the State, and have delayed and prevented its transpor
ance of every particular section in an extensive country, with conditions of climate varying from each other, furnishing if practicable a force sufficient for its own protection. In taking a survey of the operations of the Texas troops in the numerous battles in which they were engaged in Texas, Louisiana, Mississippi, Arkansas, Missouri, Kentucky, Tennessee and Virginia, the large number of promotions for meritorious conduct in them will attract attention as a remarkable result. Maj. John Henry Brown, who was an officer in the army from nearly the first to the last, in his valuable history of Texas reported that of Texans in the army, one became a general, Albert Sidney Johnston, the highest rank; one lieutenant-general, John B. Hood; three major-generals, Samuel B. Maxey, John A. Wharton and Thomas Green; 32 brigadier-generals, 97 colonels, and 15 commanders of battalions. Nearly all of those officers attained the ranks mentioned from lower ranks, by their valor in battles. It