previous next


(Raamses), Ramesses, and Ramses (Egypt. Ramessu). The name of thirteen Egyptian kings belonging to the Eighteenth, Nineteenth, and Twentieth Dynasties. (See Aegyptus.) During their age most of the great monuments of Egypt were erected, and on the monumental inscriptions

Rameses II. (Head from Tanis.)

the name is of frequent occurrence under the form Ramessu. The second of the name, a famous warrior, is usually identified with the Pharaoh of the oppression, and Rameses III. with the Pharaoh of the Exodus, but the identification is not complete. Rameses III. is probably the same as Rhampsinitus (q.v.). In 1881 the mummy of Rameses II. was found at Deir-el-Bahari, and that of Rameses III. at Boulak in 1886. On the identification of Rameses II. with Sesostris, see Sesostris. The reader is also referred to Edwards, Pharaohs, Fellahs, and Explorers, ch. iv. (N. Y. 1892).

hide Display Preferences
Greek Display:
Arabic Display:
View by Default:
Browse Bar: