previous next

Sedigĭtus, Volcatius

A Roman writer, from whose work De Poëtis Gellius (xv. 24) has preserved thirteen iambic senarii, in which the principal Latin comic dramatists are enumerated in the order of merit. In this “Canon,” as it has been termed, the first place is assigned to Caecilius Statius, the second to Plautus, the third to Naevius, the fourth to Licinius, the fifth to Attilius, the sixth to Terentius, the seventh to Turpilius, the eighth to Trabea, the ninth to Luscius, the tenth, antiquitatis causa, to Ennius.

hide Display Preferences
Greek Display:
Arabic Display:
View by Default:
Browse Bar: