previous next
[35] four great sections: a Division of the Pacific, a Division of the Atlantic, a Division of the Missouri, and a Division of the South. Four officers of eminence hold these great commands: Major-general Scholefield ruling the Pacific, from San Francisco; Major-general Hancock the Atlantic, from New York; Lieutenant-general Sheridan the Missouri, from Chicago; and Major-general McDowell the South, from Louisville. General Sherman, the Commander-in-Chief, is stationed at St. Louis.

Each military division consists of two or more departments. The division of Major-general McDowell, of which New Orleans forms a part, consists of two departments:--a Department of the South, and a Department of the Gulf. That of the South comprises seven States: Kentucky, Tennessee, North Carolina, South Carolina, Georgia, Alabama, and Florida, except the forts in Pensacola Bay, from Fort Jefferson to Key West. The Headquarters are at Louisville, where General McDowell resides. That of the Gulf comprises three States: Louisiana, Mississippi, and Arkansas, with all the military stations in the Gulf of Mexico, from Fort Jefferson to Key West, except the forts in Mobile

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 3.0 United States License.

An XML version of this text is available for download, with the additional restriction that you offer Perseus any modifications you make. Perseus provides credit for all accepted changes, storing new additions in a versioning system.

hide People (automatically extracted)
Sort people alphabetically, as they appear on the page, by frequency
Click on a person to search for him/her in this document.
McDowell (3)
Sherman (1)
Philip Sheridan (1)
Scholefield (1)
Hancock (1)
hide Display Preferences
Greek Display:
Arabic Display:
View by Default:
Browse Bar: