previous next


Then follow the Sacred Promontory1 and the Chelidoniæ, three rocky islands, equal in size, and distant from each other about 5, and from the land 6 stadia. One of them has an anchorage for vessels. According to the opinion of many writers, the Taurus begins here, because the summit is lofty, and extends from the Pisidian mountains situated above Pamphylia, and because the islands lying in front exhibit a re- markable figure in the sea, like a skirt of a mountain. But in tact the mountainous chain is continued from the country opposite Rhodes to the parts near Pisidia, and this range of mountains is called Taurus.

The Chelidoniæ islands seem to be situated in a manner opposite to Canopus,2 and the passage across is said to be 4000 stadia.

From the Sacred Promontory to Olbia3 there remain 367 stadia. In this distance are Crambusa,4 and Olympus5 a large city, and a mountain of the same name, which is called also Phœnicus;6 then follows Corycus, a tract of sea-coast.

1 Cape Chelidonia.

2 Aboukir, nearly under the same meridian.

3 Tschariklar.

4 Garabusa.

5 Tschiraly. Deliktasch.—Leake.

6 Ianartasch.

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 3.0 United States License.

An XML version of this text is available for download, with the additional restriction that you offer Perseus any modifications you make. Perseus provides credit for all accepted changes, storing new additions in a versioning system.

load focus Greek (1877)
load focus English (1924)
hide References (3 total)
hide Display Preferences
Greek Display:
Arabic Display:
View by Default:
Browse Bar: